Miles By Motorcycle
established 11 years ago
DR650se AchievedSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 52
    Yermo
    11 years ago
    Audrey drove me up to Frederick, coincidentally almost next door to Josh's Triumph dealer, to go take a look at that 2009 DR650.

I took it for a short test ride and it was a done deal.

Photo #810
    Yermo
    11 years ago
    2009 DR650SE

I'm thinking of writing more in a blog article once I have some more experience with the bike but I must confess I am surprised how impressed I am with it. Of all the bikes I've test ridden, this one feels by far and away the most "right".

Also, it vibrates less than any of the others. It's impressively smooth and may even be smoother than the R1100S. I do believe this is the right bike for the trip. Any doubts I had about this being the bike are now gone.

It carbureted and thus has all the problems associated with carburetors (cold start, choke) but I confess it's not that much of a problem. It did stall out on me a few times at stop lights but that may just be a break in issue. Under way, it was surprisingly strong.

I have a feeling this is going to be a very fun bike.

More later.
    2 of 52
    rshaug
    11 years ago
    Bought this one from National Powersports...should arrive within about 3 weeks...

Photo #813
    rshaug
    11 years ago

3 of 52
    rshaug
    11 years ago
    Looks like we may want to truck-n-trailer it to the gap this year after all ...bikes in the mix (please edit/add as needed):

-RS: N1K, DR650
    -YL: R1100, DR650
    -DS: K13, ??
    -JC: ?? (a triple perhaps?)
    -others I'm missing??
    4 of 52
    Yermo
    11 years ago
    YL: K100RS, R1100S, DR650

although I suspect at least two of those bikes will be ridden down ... unless Ian decides to join us in which case ...

Ian! There are now two guest bikes!

May!

You can do it!
    5 of 52
    Yermo
    11 years ago