Miles By Motorcycle
established 11 years ago
First Aid Kit for Bike/CarSubscribe to this blog RSS Feed
    You must be logged in and belong to this group to post to this forum.
    1 of 9
    jpcfjr
    13 years ago
    Reading this thread got me thinking I should probably put one of these together.

Link #4551
    jpcfjr
    11 years ago

You're bleeding & the nearest hospital isn't near at all - Other Bike / Bike-related Discussions - FJRForum

Page 1 of 4 - You're bleeding & the nearest hospital isn't near at all - posted in Other Bike / Bike-related Discussions: Protondecay123's making me think now I'm an OR nurse. If someone's bleeding out in the OR, we have the anaesthesiologist injecting meds and transfusing blood products and volume expanders - as well managing Buddy's airway. The surgeon's burning, clipping, stapling and tying as fast as he/she can.But I can see where that might be a probl...

http://www.fjrforum.com/forum//inde...

Any thoughts here?
    2 of 9
    Ian
    13 years ago
    When packing up the bike for a day ride or multi-day ride, I always take a hiker's first aid kit that I bought at REI. It's pretty small and has some good general purpose stuff in it.
    3 of 9
    jpcfjr
    13 years ago
    Thanks Ian, I will probably stop by REI on Friday and see what kind of pre-fab kits they have. From that thread, the emt folks are recommending big pads of some sort and blood coagulant stuff as well as something to tie off wounds and stop bleeding. I suppose it's all about postponing the worst while you wait for the real help to arrive.

I like what the one person has written in that thread..."Don't worry about it too much, all bleeding stops eventually."
    4 of 9
    Ian
    13 years ago